Mormon Wedding Invitation

When a mormon gets married they have two choices (and neither is comfortable which is why I am forgiving to the couple.)

  1. Don’t invite the non-members.  Not really a good choice no matter how you look at it.
  2. Invite them.  And they get to wait in the waiting room where they are allowed to ask questions about the church & gain information about the couple’s religious lives.  But not being involved is (almost) insulting? and you have to watch what you do very carefully.

I was just invited to a wedding by a friend who was close until the day my family left the church.  We might have talked a little since, but I doubt it.

I don’t really know what to say, or what to do.  It was a facebook group, “if you want an invitation I’ll need your address.”  Yes, I want an invitation so I can drive three hours to sit in the waiting room?…

My brother and sister did that for my cousin’s wedding in Cali, and my mother did for her sister’s in Utah(?).  They flew or drove for hours just to walk around and wait for it to be over.  I’m not really interested in that.

Leave a Reply

