The Foundation of a Story

When a novel begins, they start out by describing the setting, and create the foundation of what life is like before the change.  (The change being the reason/ the storyline behind why people pick up the book.)  The life of harry potter before he gets the letter in the mail, Bella’s life in Twilight before the vampire.

I’ve found that there is a million different places that a story can be started, but one in particular might be better off when it comes to winning over an audience.  Or is it?  Does a story have to be relate-able as it begins, or do readers have a large enough desire to jump straight into the drama that they have come to read.

I’ve read both types of books, books with a “foundation,” and other books where it is as though the characters didn’t exist until their importance was shown on page #1.

What do you think? Do you have an opinion?

5 thoughts on “The Foundation of a Story

  1. Very good point made, I never thought of it like that. Now that I think about it I usually only read books that have a foundation; because I can’t get into the ones that don’t. I like to be able to relate to the characters and put myself in there shoes because I could see myself going through the same situations they did. Minus the Vampire, Werewolf stuff (Big Twilight fan).

    Like

  2. Thank you for some other great article. Where else may just anybody get that kind of
    info in such an ideal approach of writing? I have a
    presentation subsequent week, and I’m on the search for such information.

    Like

    • That’s the question every new writer aspires to find out for themselves. Trying to copy the writing of others is tiring, if not unsuccessful. It may prove best to study how others create their writing, and then spin that webbing with your own imagination.

      Like

Leave a Reply

