Shame On You For Having Kids

So I’m at the age where loads of people start to have kids for the first time (22).  Except that, for a moderate degree, having kids is almost irresponsible.  To be honest these people have careers rather than just jobs, or at least there are positions they can move up to rather than being held in the same one.  They also make good money, and can afford a child or two.

It might just be my generation, but I am surprised people are happy, and content in these positions, and are happy to stay in then for ten, twenty years without feeling the need to pursue more.  I am jealous that they are content, and with that I could be too.  But I’m not, and I see having a child as something that would hold one down, and keep them from feeling empowered.

When it comes to the actual kids themselves, I do believe it isn’t as big of a deal to be a single parent any longer (if that is the case, which being a young parent doesn’t mean it has to be).  They’re not living in poverty, the child will have food and a parent that loves them.  In all honesty they probably enjoy life.

I am; however biased, and try to not see them as having made a mistake, or judge them because of it.

I see the percentage of people who suffer, who have depression, who commit suicide or struggle just to live.  I look at the world and at everything that a child is going to have to face.  The hoops they will have to jump, the struggles they will have.

I know that my bias is one that these children will likely not have to face.  Still, my bias is not something that I can just make disappear, and that’s why I keep it to myself.

3 thoughts on “Shame On You For Having Kids

  1. I had my children when I was 23. A single birth and then twins(back to back pregnancies) I was married and had a great life plan until things changed and divorce happened. Anything can happen at any time in ones life, no matter how well planned out you may be. Those fears of what A child will be brought into are completely justified and should be taken into account when thinking about creating a family.

    Like

    • Thank you for the comment. I have a pretty cynical look on the world. When life is going great, the kids are wanted, and there is room and time for kids there is no realistic reason to not have them. If life happens life happens. I just fear that people shouldn’t have kids because they want them, but instead only if they want them, and have the resources to support them.

      It feels kind of classist for me to say that.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

