Unenchanted by Chanda Hahn – Book Review

I was somewhat surprised how quickly I read through this book.  Normally I get distracted, and only read for half an hour to an hour at a time.  It might make a difference considering that it is the first novel I have read on the kindle I bought last Saturday.  I find reading on a black and white kindle to be much more enjoyable than reading a physical book.

I was a bit confused when the author used the words “Grimm,” since it is so similar to the brother’s Grimm, and also the TV show.  After reading for a while I saw all of the similarities between the different stories, but it is at least a bit perplexing.  Each does have their own twist, and I would add that rather than making it confusing it made the story even more interesting.  It adds the adult charm to the book where I might have stopped reading if it hadn’t considering that the book was written for high schoolers.

Emotions that appear much more rash, and unorthodox to a more mature audience only make the story more enjoyable.  Consider that, knowing you aren’t the target audience permits the story to be read differently, and more enjoyably.  I’d recommend this story without a doubt, and do expect to purchase the following books.  (The first book in the series by this author is free for the kindle on amazon!)  With the following books being 3$ the cost is less than a beer, and the same as a soda for a teenager.  The profit margins on e-books are much higher than physical copies so it’s not as big of a deal for authors.

Leave a Reply

